

# International Symposium on Neurosciences



## XXXI Annual Conference of Indian Academy of Neurosciences

October 25 – 27, 2013 Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh, India

Theme: Emerging Trends and Challenges in Neuroscience

Dear Colleagues,

It is my privilege to inform you that this year the International Symposium on Neurosciences & XXXI Annual Conference of Indian Academy of Neurosciences is being hosted by the oldest Science Academy of India, i.e. The National Academy of Sciences India (NASI), 5, Lajpat Rai Road, Allahabad, under the auspices of the Indian Academy of Neurosciences. Modern lifestyle and stress lead to several psychosomatic disorders and lifestyle diseases. Furthermore role of nutrition in brain function, brain aging, brain plasticity, basic and clinical neuroscience research and recent advancements in cutting edge neuroscience research must be deliberated in the form of plenary talks, invited lectures and scientific symposia by peers in the field.

You are requested to kindly come and join us to share your thoughts and ideas on these issues during the International Symposium on Neurosciences & XXXI Annual Conference of Indian Academy of Neurosciences to be held from October 25<sup>th</sup> -27<sup>th</sup>, 2013 at NASI, Allahabad and be an active participant to help us in improving the quality of Neuroscience research in the country and showcase Indian neuroscience to international peers.

U.C. Srivastava

#### **Scientific Programme**

- **Keynote Lecture**
- Plenary Lectures
- Special Lectures
- Award Lectures
- Oral Presentations
- Poster Presentations

#### Behavioural & Cognitive Neuroscience

- **❖** Brain Plasticity & Neurogenesis
- Developmental Neurobiology and Toxicology
- Epigenetics
- Evolutionary Neurobiology
- Functional imaging & brain mapping

### **Tentative Symposia**

- Glial Neurobiology
- Neurobiology of Alcoholism and Aging
- Neuroendocrinology
- ❖ Neurooncology and Epilepsy
- Neuropharmacology and Neurotoxicology
- Nutrition and Brain

#### **Awards for Young Neuroscientists**

Tulsabai Somani Education Trust Award
Dr. D. M. Kar Prize
S. S. Parmar Research Foundation Prize
Jyotsnamoyee Raghunath Bhattacharya Prize

#### **Travel Awards**

John Miller Travel Award
Dr. Ravindra Nath & Lalita Nath Memorial Travel Awards

For more details please visit http://neuroscienceacademy.org.in

Last date of receiving nomination August 30, 2013

Early Bird Registration (Till August 16, 2013)			
Category	Upto Aug 16	After Aug16	On spot
IAN Member	INR 3000	INR 3500	INR 4000
Non-IAN member	INR 4000	INR 4500	INR 5000
Accompanying person	INR 2000	INR 2500	INR 2500
Students IAN Members	INR 2500	INR 3000	INR 3500
Non-Members	INR 3000	INR 3500	INR 4000
Foreign Delegates	US\$ 200	US\$ 225	US\$ 250
Associate Foreign Delegates	US\$ 100	US\$ 150	US\$ 200

Online Registrations launched from June 15, 2013

#### Venue

Vigyan Parishad, Allahabad

ě.

The National Academy of Sciences India, Allahabad

Important Deadlines			
Early Registration	August 16 <sup>th</sup> , 2013		
Abstract Submission	August 30 <sup>h</sup> , 2013		
Accommodation Requirement (Limited discounted student Accommodation)	September 15 <sup>th</sup> , 2013		

#### **Conference Secretariat**

Professor U.C. Srivastava

Zoology Department, Allahabad University, Allahabad – 211 002

Email: ucsrivastava@rediffmail.com

ian2013allahabad@gmail.com

Contact: +91 – 93351 20178, 94153 09681

Organized by

Indian Academy of Neuroscience, Allahabad Chapter

The National Academy of Sciences, India

#### **Organizing Committee**

: Prof. Krishna Misra, The National Academy of Sciences India, Allahabad: Dr. Niraj Kumar, The National Academy of Sciences India, Allahabad

: Prof. Kartikeya Sharma, MS, Senior Neurosurgeon, Allahabad

: Prof. U.C. Srivastava, Zoology Department, Allahabad University, Allahabad

: Dr. K.P. Singh, Zoology Department, Allahabad University, Allahabad

Prof. Anita Gopesh, Zoology Department, Allahabad University, Allahabad
 CA - A.K. Srivastava, The National Academy of Sciences India, Allahabad

Treasurer

Dr. M.K. Thakur, Varanasi Vice Presidents

**Organizing Secretary** 

**Jt. Organizing Secretary** 

**Chair Person** 

Convener Co-Convener

Secretary

**President** 

Dr. S.C. Pandey, Chicago, USA Dr. U.C. Srivastava, Allahabad

Dean

Dr. S. Sinha, Manesar

General Secretary Dr. P. Seth, Manesar Secretary HQ

Dr. V.K. Khanna, Lucknow Secretary International Affairs Dr. D.K. Lahiri, Indianapolis, USA

Treasurer

Dr. A. K. Agrawal, Lucknow

Chief Editor

Dr. A. Anand, Chandigarh

IAN Executive Committee

Members
Dr (Ms). Laxmi T. Rao, Bangalore
Dr (Ms). Vidita Vaidya, Mumbai
Dr U.S. Bhalla, Bangalore

Dr (Ms). Gurcharan Kaur, Amritsar Dr. (Ms). S.B. Singh, New Delhi Dr. RV Omkumar, Thiruvananthapuram IBRO and FAONS Representative
Dr. P. K. Seth, Lucknow
Immediate Past President
Dr. R. Shukla, Lucknow
Immediate Past General Secretary
Dr M.K. Thakur, Varanasi