Minutes of the General Body Meeting held on December 13, 2008 at Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT), Cochin

The meeting of the General Body (GB) of Indian Academy of Neurosciences (IAN) was held on December 13, 2008 at Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT), Cochin. The meeting was chaired by Dr. B. N. Dhawan, President of the IAN. The list of members who attended the meeting is attached as Annexure - I.

Before starting the business, a condolence was held for Dr. KTN Shetty, one of the outstanding neuroscientists and a past General Secretary of the Academy. The meeting was adjourned and reconvened.

Dr. Dhawan welcomed all the Fellows and members and thanked them for attending the meeting.

- The minutes of the last GB held at Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi on November 23, 2007 were confirmed.
- 2. The General Secretary's report was presented by Dr. M. K. Thakur wherein he informed that the strength of the Academy has increased and it is the time to move ahead together to attain new heights. He requested the Convener / Secretary of local branches to gear up academic activities to mobilize young researchers. He also appealed the members to inform the change in address and emails, if any, to the Treasurer and Secretary HQ to update the address directory.
- The Treasurer's report presented by Dr. A.K. Agrawal was approved by the GB. The members thanked him for managing the accounts of the Academy smoothly.
- 4. In the absence of Dr. Rakesh Shukla, the Editor's report was presented by Dr. Vinay K. Khanna, Secretary (HQ). Sincere and untiring efforts of the Editor and the editorial team in bringing out all issues of the journal on time were appreciated.
- 5. Dr. C.S. Paulose, Organizing Secretary of the XXVI IAN Conference presented the report on scientific sessions organized and number of papers presented in oral and poster sessions. In his short report, Dr. Paulose apprised that 8 symposia, 5 oral sessions, 2 award sessions, invited lectures and poster sessions were held. Besides, an INSA Award lecture and NASI children interactive meet were also organized during the three days conference. He informed that there was a lot of enthusiasm among the young researchers to participate in this conference. Dr. Paulose was requested to prepare a consolidated report at the earliest for publication in Current Science in consultation with the General Secretary and Secretary HQ. He was also requested to prepare a report of the NASI children interactive meet for sending it to The National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad and of the INSA oration to the Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi. A brief report should also be sent to other agencies which provided funds to facilitate future grants. He was suggested to settle the accounts and remit some of the savings out of the conference funds to IAN as decided during the last GB held at Varanasi.
- 6. Consideration of the recommendations of the EC
 - (i) Proposal to elect Dr. M. S. Kanungo, Varanasi and Dr. K. N. Sharma, Bangalore as Honorary Fellows and Dr. Vinay K. Khanna, Lucknow and Dr. P. Prakash Babu as Fellows of the Academy was unanimously approved by the GB.
 - (ii) The GB also approved recommendation of EC awarding Dr. B.K. Bachhawat Memorial Life Time Achievement Award to Dr. R.C. Srimal.
 - (iii) The GB approved that Membership fee be increased to Rs. 2,000/- from Rs. 1,000/- and this change be implemented from January 1, 2009.

- (iv) The GB approved recommendation of EC for implementation of updated Rules and Byelaws and also approved that existing Honorary Members be termed as Honorary Fellows henceforth. The GB also approved the recommendation of EC that one more category in the membership as Associate Member be included which should be on annual basis for interested individuals with M. Sc. / M. Phil Degree in life, pharmaceutical, physical and social sciences or humanities. The Associate Members will not be able to take part in the election process. The fee of Associate Member at present will be Rs. 200/- (Rupees Two hundred only) on annual basis.
- (v) In order to cut down the expenses on postage, it was approved that issues of the journal to overseas members be sent as soft copy. Those overseas members interested in getting the hard copy of the journal will have to bear the cost of postage. The GB approved the proposal.
- (vi) The GB approved the proposal to institute an award in the memory of Dr. KTN Shetty. It was also approved that Dr. H. C. Pant may discuss the modalities with his other colleagues, frame guidelines and forward these to Dr. Vinay K. Khanna, Secretary HQ for approval by EC.
- 7. The GB was informed that Dr (Ms). V. Ravindranath, Convener for the FAONS Congress in 2010, in a letter addressed to the President expressed her inability to organize the FAONS as she will be moving from Manesar to Bangalore. The issue was discussed in the EC to explore the possibility for holding the conference either at Varanasi, Lucknow or New Delhi. Dr. M. K. Thakur, the General Secretary was entrusted the responsibility to finalize the venue quickly after consulting the EC members. The GB approved the same.
- 8. The recommendation of EC for holding the XXVII annual meeting at Jaipur was accepted by the GB. The suggestion of EC that the Organizing Secretary should develop the scientific programme in consultation with President, General Secretary and Secretary HQ to avoid overlaps was also appreciated and approved by the GB.
- 9. Recommendations of the EC in constituting the new executive was presented and approved by the GB (list enclosed). No valid nomination was received for the post of Editor. Name of Dr. Akshay Anand, Chandigarh was proposed at GB. It was suggested that Dr. Anand should expeditiously forward the details of experience along with certification by his HOD to the Secretary HQ. Final decision will be taken by the President in consultation with Editor, Dean, General Secretary, Secretary HQ and Treasurer. Co-Editors may later be selected by the new Editor in consultation with the President, General Secretary and Secretary HQ.
- 10. The President thanked the outgoing EC members for their contribution to efficient working of the Academy and cooperation extended to him. He welcomed the new EC and hoped that progress of the Academy will be accelerated during its tenure.
- The GB thanked Dr. C. S. Paulose and his colleagues for organizing the annual meeting of the IAN and international conference.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Free online access to the journal NEUROSIGNALS.

Ms. Lisa Locher from S. Karger AG has agreed to offer free online access to the IAN members to Neurosignals. Interested members may request her directly on the following address,

Lisa Locher, Promotion, S. Karger AG, Medical and Scientific Publishers, Allschwilerstrasse 10, CH-4009 Basel; Tel. +41 61 306 11 11 (main), +41 61 306 13 64 (direct), Fax +41 61 306 1234, website www.karger.com, E-mail I.locher@karger.ch