## Minutes of the General Body Meeting held on December 18, 2009 at Jaipur

The meeting of the General Body (GB) of Indian Academy of Neurosciences (IAN) was held on December 18, 2009 at NIMS University, Jaipur. The meeting was chaired by Dr. Rakesh Shukla, President of the IAN. The list of members who attended the meeting is attached as Annexure - I. Dr. Shukla formally welcomed the members and thanked them for making it convenient to attend the meeting. He requested the General Secretary to discuss the agenda.

- 1. The minutes of the last GB held at CUSAT, Cochin on December 13, 2008 were confirmed.
- 2. Dr. M. K. Thakur, General Secretary of IAN presented the report. He informed about the activities held at the local braches at Lucknow and Varanasi and honours received by the IAN members. He requested the members to inform the change in their address and emails, if any to the Treasurer and Secretary HQ to update the address directory.
- 3. Dr. A.K. Agrawal presented the Treasurer's report which was approved unanimously with applause.
- 4. The Editor's report was presented by Dr. Akshay Anand. The members appreciated efforts of the Editor in improving the quality of the journal. It was suggested that number of the original research articles be increased in the journal for a better impact as discussed in the EC. The GB suggested, if required, the Editor may include Co-Editors in his team. The Editor was suggested to circulate other pertinent issues to the EC in advance which may consider them for placing before the GB. The Editor agreed to follow the same.
- 5. The Organizing Secretary Dr. Anurag Tomar presented the report of the meeting. He informed that 8 symposia, 6 oral sessions, 2 award sessions, invited lectures and poster sessions were organized during the three day conference. Further, B. K. Bachhawat Memorial Lectures, KT Shetty Memorial Oration and a special session on neuroscience education were also the part of the scientific programme. Children interactive meet supported by NASI, Allahabad was also organized during the conference. Dr. Tomar was requested to prepare a consolidated report at the earliest for publication in Current Science in consultation with the General Secretary and Secretary HQ. He was also requested to prepare a report of the NASI children interactive meet for sending it to The National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad.

- 6. Consideration of the recommendations of the EC
  - The GB approved election of Dr. C. Nath (CDRI, Lucknow), Dr. S. Chakraborti (IPGMER, Kolkata), Dr. Raghu Vemuganti (University of Wisconsin, Masdison) and Dr. HWM Steinbusch (Maastrich University, The Netherlands) as Fellows of the Academy.
  - (ii) The GB also approved recommendation of EC conferring the B.K. Bachhawat Memorial Life Time Achievement Award on Dr. G.N. Pandey, Chicago.
  - (iii) The Search Committee was suggested to discuss and recommend name for the KT Shetty Memorial Oration to the EC for consideration / approval.
- 7. Dr. P.K. Seth, IAN FAONS representative informed that Dr. Y.K. Gupta, Professor and Head, Department of Pharmacology, AIIMS, New Delhi has consented to organize 5<sup>th</sup> FAONS Congress at New Delhi from November 25 27, 2010. He further informed that an IBRO school will be organized at NBRC, Manesar either before or after the FAONS Congress. The GB was very happy to note it. Dr. Seth appealed the GB for support and invited views of the members to develop good scientific programme. He said that pre- and post- satellite symposia on focused themes at different places involved in neuroscience research is also being planned alongwith FAONS. Dr. Seth further said that he would have a meeting at New Delhi with Professor Y.K. Gupta to finalize the venue and discuss other organizational modalities soon. He would seek guidance of Dr. P.N. Tandon and other members to develop stimulating programme as suggested by the EC. The ideas were appreciated and supported by the GB with applause.
- 8. The GB was informed the recommendation of the EC that the General Secretary has been requested to explore the possibility of holding the next IAN Conference at Amritsar or Kolkata or at any other suitable place as no proposal was received to hold the annual meeting of IAN in 2011. The GB approved the recommendation of the EC.
- 9. Recommendations of the EC in constituting the new executive (Annexure II) was presented and approved by the GB.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

## List of persons who attended the GB Meeting

- Pankaj Seth, NBRC, Manesar 1.
- 2.
- Nisha Patro, Jiwaji University, Gwalior P. Prakash Babu, University of Hyderabad, 3. Hyderabad
- S. Prasad, BHU, Varanasi 4.
- 5. Raghu Vumuganti, University of Wisconsin, Madison
- Rakesh Shukla, CDRI, Lucknow 6.
- C. Nath. CDRI. Lucknow 7.
- 8. Sunita Bhatnagar, Udaipur
- 9. B. Shukla, Gwalior
- 10. R.C. Srimal, Lucknow
- 11. M. Hasan, Lucknow
- 12. Sasanka Chakraborti, Kolkata
- 13. M.C. Arunan, Mumbai
- 14. Nilendra Singh
- 15. Abhishek Desai
- 16. Raj D. Mehra, AIIMS, New Delhi
- 17. Pushpa Dhar, AIIMS, New Delhi
- 18. Suman Jain
- 19. Varsha Jain
- 20. Saumya Nagar
- 21. Maheep Bhatnagar, Udaipur
- 22. Ambali Appukuttan
- 23. Debasmita Tripathy
- 24. Joy Chakraborti
- 25. Rakesh Kumar
- 26. K.P. Sharma
- 27. G Sweta Kameshwari
- 28. Maheshwar Sharma
- 29. Iti Gary
- 30. Bhagya, NIMHANS, Bangalore
- 31. M. Krishna
- 32. Rahul Agarwal, CDRI, Lucknow
- 33. Ethika Tyagi, CDRI, Lucknow
- 34. P. K. Kamat
- 35. Sarita Kaul
- 36. Snehal Bhisikar
- 37. Supriya Swatnkar
- 38. Poonam Goswani
- 39. Kalpana Barhwal, New Delhi
- 40. Satyanarayana Deep
- 41. Aditya Chaudhary
- 42. Vishal Jain
- 43. Iswar Baitharn
- 44. G. Reisor, Germany

- T. C. Nag, AIIMS, New Delhi
  Mukesh Varshney, AIIMS, New Delhi
  Saroj Sharma, AIMMS, New Delhi
- Shilpi, AIIMS, New Delhi 48.
- 49. Ruchi Mishra
- Houshad Singh Naruka 50.
- Harish C. Pant, Bethesda, USA 51.
- Anand Swaroop 52
- 53. A. J. Vanisree
- V. C. Nathiya 54.
- 55. Godhani Rajesh
- Hitesh Solenki 56.
- Upadhyay Ruchit 57
- Umesh Prajapati 58.
- 59. Vikas Patel
- **Dushyant Deol** 60.
- Vijay K. Bharti 61.
- Rituraj Niranjan, CDRI, Lucknow Anshi Shukla, IITR, Lucknow 62
- 63.
- 64. Shovan Naskar
- Rajendra K. Shukla, IITR, Lucknow 65.
- Dev Raj Sood 66.
- Rajesh Singh Yadav, IITR, Lucknow 67.
- Sareesh N. N. 68.
- Raju Suresh Kumar 69
- 70. Satyendra Pal Kuril, BHU, Varanasi
- Madhu Lata Sankhwar, IITR, Lucknow 71.
- 72. S. K. Hota, Leh
- Shashi Bala Singh, Leh 73.
- G. N. Pandey, Chicago, USA 74.
- 75. Usha Singhal, Aligarh
- 76.
- K. C. Singhal, Jaipur S. S. Parmar, Trumbell, USA 77.
- B. N. Dhawan, Lucknow 78.
- B. S. S. Rao, NIMHANS, Bangalore 79
- 80. P. K. Seth, Lucknow
- 81. Yogesh Dwivedi, Chicago, USA
- 82. I. K. Patro, Jiwaji University, Gwalior
- A. K. Agarwal, Lucknow 83.
- Rakesh shukla, CSMMU, Lucknow 84
- M. K. Thakur, BHU, Varanasi 85.
- 86. Anurag Tomar, Jaipur
- Akshay Anand, PGIMER, Chandigarh 87.
- 88. V. K. Khanna, IITR, Lucknow

Annexure – I

## Annexure II

## Indian Academy of Neurosciences Executive Committee 2009-2010

President	Dr. R. Shukla, CSMMU, Lucknow
Vice Presidents	Dr. G.N. Pandey, USA Dr. B. G. Unni, Jorhat
Dean	Dr. I.K. Patro, Gwalior
General Secretary	Dr. M.K. Thakur, Varanasi
Secretary HQ	Dr. V.K. Khanna, Lucknow
Secretary International Affairs	Dr. Raghu Vemuganti, Madison, USA
Treasurer	Dr. A. K. Agrawal, Lucknow
Editor	Dr. A. Anand, Chandigarh
Members	Dr. B.S.S. Rao, Bangalore Dr. Usha Singhal, Aligarh Dr (Ms). K. D. Gill, Chandigarh Dr. K. P. Mohanakumar, Kolkata Dr. P. Seth, Manesar Dr. C. S. Paulose, Cochin
IBRO and FAONS Representative	Dr. P. K. Seth, Lucknow
Immediate Past President	Dr. B. N. Dhawan, Lucknow
Immediate Past General Secretary	Dr (Ms). P.G. Joshi, Bangalore