## Minutes of the General Body Meeting Held at Kolkata on 19th March 2002

The General Body meeting of the Indian Academy of Neurosciences (IAN) was held on 19th March 2002 at the Indian Institute for Chemical Biology, Kolkata.

- 1. The president of IAN, Professor Devika Nag welcomed the members and addressed the meeting.
- 2. The minutes of the previous General Body (GB) were approved.
- 3. The General Secretary presented his report and appraised the GB about the achievements of the members of IAN.
- 4. On behalf of the treasurer, Dr. A.K. Agarwal, who was abroad, Dr. Vinaya K. Khanna presented the balance sheet and audited statement of accounts of the Academy, which was approved by the GB.
- 5. The Guidelines for the newly instituted award of the academy namely the B.K. Bachhawat Life Time Achievement Award in Neuroscience forwarded by the Executive Council of IAN (EC) were discussed and approved. The Guidelines approved are as follows:

LIFE TIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD OF INDIAN ACADEMY OF NEUROSCIENCES IN MEMORY OF PROF. B.K. BACHHAWAT Introduction:

Members of the Indian Academy of Neurosciences are creating an endowment to give an award in memory of the late Prof. B.K. Bacchawat, one of the stalwarts of Neuroscience in India and a former president of the Academy. The award will be called B.K. Bacchawat Life Time Achievement Award in Neuroscience to be given to an outstanding Neuroscientist, based on the research contributions. Rules and Regulations:

- 1. a) The Awardee must be a Fellow/ Honorary Member/ Life Member of the Indian Academy of Neurosciences.
- 2. b) He/ She should have at least 10 years standing in the area of Neurosciences.
- 3. c) The contributions in Neuroscience in India will be judged by: i. Research publications, ii. Awards, iii. Contributions to growth of Neuroscience in India.
- 4. d) A Search Committee consisting of the following office bearers and fellows of the Indian Academy will be constituted by the Executive committee which will consider the nominations/ propose a panel of maximum 2 Neuroscientists, preferably in order of merit: i. President, ii. General secretary, iii. Dean, iv. Editor of the Journal, v. Two Fellows of the Academy. The Dean will be the Convenor of the Committee and will invite nominations. The members of this committee and Office bearers of the year of award shall not be eligible.
- 5. e) The Executive Committee will approve the final name and award will be announced during the Inaugural function of the annual general meeting of the Academy.
- 6. f) The awardee will give an oration on the topic of his choice preferably at the annual meeting or under the auspices of a local chapter. The awardee

will also provide MSS of the oration for publication in the Annals of Neurosciences.

- 7. g) The award will consist of a scroll and a plaque to be given at the time of the lecture. Free local hospitality will be extended and travel may be fully/partially supported, if necessary, subject to availability of funds.
- 6. The EC had recommended minor changes in the guideline for the various IAN awards. These were accepted by the GB. The changes suggested were (The existing guidelines were published in the news letter of 2001.):
  - 1. a) For any of the awards the nominee must be a member of IAN.
  - 2. b) For Tulsa Bai Somani Educational Trust Award and D.M. Kar prize all other conditions remaining the same, the nominee has to submit the MSS of the paper in 3 copies to the General Secretary of the Academy at least 6 weeks prior to the Annual Meeting for peer reviewing. The abstract of the paper should also be sent to the Organizing Secretary of the relevant Annual Meeting/ Conference. The papers awarded shall be published in the official journal of the Academy Annals of Neurosciences.
  - 3. c) For Jyotsnamoyee Raghunath Bhattacharya Award, while all other conditions remain the same, only papers published during past 2 years with respect to the year of award shall be considered.
  - 4. d) For all awards, the nominations have to be sent to the General Secretary simultaneously. The rest of the procedure shall continue as were accepted at the GB of the Academy held on 7.12.99 at Gwalior.
- 7. The General Secretary requested the members to forward news and information about their groups, Institutes and individuals so that they can be included in the Newsletters. The members were also requested to send their communication details so that the directory of members can be revised.
- 8. Prof. Rakesh Shukla presented a report on behalf of the Editor and informed about the Journal Endowment fund. He informed the house that a sum of Rs. 25,680/- has been collected and thanked the members who generously contributed towards this. He also requested other members to contribute towards this fund. It was unanimously resolved that for each issue some papers/reviews may be invited. Dr. Shukla requested the members to contribute quality research papers for publication in the Journal of the Academy.
- 9. The house was informed of the donation by Prof. Jhon Miller for extending travel grant to young scientists to attend the annual conference of the Academy. The house approved the guidelines suggested by the EC for the purpose, which are as follows: The Organizing Secretary will select one or more (depending on the funds available) young scientists (students preferably) to be supported for their travel to attend the Annual Conference.
- 10. The house was informed that the Fellows for the year 2001 shall be selected in a meeting to be held at Lucknow in April and the names shall be declared through the Newsletter. This was approved by the house.
- 11. The proposal for creating a position of IAN Representative to IBRO and FAONS forwarded by the EC was approved by the house.

- 12. The efforts made by Professor Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath in creating and maintaining the IAN-IBRO relationship and those by Dr. P.K. Seth in getting a membership of IAN in FAONS were appreciated by the house.
- 13. The house unanimously elected the following office bearers:

President:	Professor (Mrs.) G. Gopinath, Bangalore
Vice-Presidents:	Dr. Harish Pant, USA Dr. Daya K. Manghani, Mumbai Dr. Sumantra Das, Kolkata
Dean	Professor Shashi wadhwa, New Delhi
General Secretary	Dr. Ishan Patro, Gwalior
Jt. Secretary	Dr. C. Nath, Lucknow Secretary International Affairs: Dr. S.M. Somani, USA
Treasurer:	Dr. A.K. Agarwal, Lucknow
Chief Editor:	Prof. A.M. Kar
Co-Editors:	Prof. D.R. Singh, Lucknow Dr. D.P. Agarwal, Germany
IAN Representative to FAONS	Dr. P.K. Seth, Lucknow
IAN Representative to IBRO	Dr. Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath, Gurgaon
Executive Committee Members	Prof. Hardayal Singh, Amritsar Dr. K.K. Sharma, New Delhi Dr. Rakesh Shukla, KGMC, Lucknow Dr. Anita Jagota, Hyderabad Dr. V.P. Shetty, Mumbai Dr. P.K. Maheswari, Agra

- 14. The venue for next Annual Meetings and Conference were discussed. The two invitations received from Amritsar and Udaipur were accepted with first priority to Amritsar. The offer from Dr. Anita Jagota to hold the Meetings for 2004 at Hyderabad was also appreciated and recorded.
- 15. The General Secretary expressed the gratitude of the members of IAN to the Director, IICB, Kolkata and Dr. K.P. Mohanakumar for hosting the Annual Meetings and providing all support. He also thanked all the Office Bearers of the Year for extending their co-operation and help.
- 16. The Meeting concluded with thanks to the Chair.