## MINUTES OF THE GENERAL BODY MEETING OF THE INDIAN ACDEMY OF NEUROSCIENCES HELD ON 22.02.03 AT Udaipur

A meeting of the General Body (GB) of the Indian Academy of Neurosciences (IAN) was held on 22.2.03 at Udaipur during the 20'h Annual conference.

- 1. Before the house was called to order for the business meeting members of the IAN were informed of the sad demise of Prof. Satu M. Somani, Prof. R. Nath and Dr. D.P. Agarwal by Prof. B.N. Dhawan. IAN members paid homage to the departed souls by observing 2 nits silence. It was decided that a letter of condolence to be sent to the family of each of the departed neuroscientist.
- 2. The President of IAN, Professor G. Gopinath welcomed the members and initiated the official business.
- 3. First point in the agenda was approval of the minutes of the previous meeting held at Kolkatta. Though the minutes were available on the IAN website many of the members complained that they had not received the minutes by post. It was also pointed out that postal addresses of a large number of members were not updated and as a result many had received circulars and announcements pertaining to IAN General Secretary Dr. Ishan Patro requested the members to give their postal and email addresses to rectify such lapses.

It was requested that invitation to conferences be sent to founder members, Fellows, Presidents and Honorary members of the Academy. Members approved the minutes of the GB meeting held at Kolkotta.

4. The General Secretary, Dr. Ishan Patro presented the report in which the events of the previous year highlighted were membership-drive, launching of the Academy's website and awards and recognition received by the various members of IAN. He made a brief presentation of the proceedings of the Executive Committee meeting held the previous day at Udaipur.

At the EC meeting Prof. V. Ravindranath, Director, NBRC, New Delhi informed the members that she has been nominated as the Secretary of FAONS for the next 3 years. She informed that contribution from the last conference at Kolkotta helped in paying up the outstanding dues to FAONS and she requested that this practice should continue in future too. She requested that Dr. Mohan Kumar be sent an official letter appreciating the gesture.

Both Prof. Ravindranath and Dr. Seth were of the view that Indian neuroscientists should make use of the financial help by FAONS and IBRO to conduct workshops and for travel to attend conferences and workshops and also summer courses by applying for the same well in advance.

The house appreciated the efforts of Prof. Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath, Prof. P.K. Seth and Dr. K.P. Mohanakumar.

5. In the absence of the Treasurer, the General Secretary presented the balance sheet and audited statement of accounts of the Academy. GB was of the view that statement of accounts should be circulated in advance so that each member can study the same

carefully. Members also pointed out that auditing can be only done at the end of the financial year and hence it has to be circulated after March each year. Treasurer was to be informed of the same so that he could take the necessary action from this year onwards.

- 6. It was of concern to all the members that award papers were few. The members were requested to encourage young scientists to participate in the competition for various prizes/awards of the Academy. It was also felt the award money be raised at least to cover their travel to and fro. All efforts are to be made to attract endowments from suitable sources to raise the award money.
- 7. The Editor's suggestions and request for submission of articles for publication in the official journal of the Academy was placed in the house. Some of the members were of the opinion that the award papers be published in the Journal. However, it was further discussed and resolved this may not be made mandatory.
- 8. The house was informed of the EC's recommendations for election of the honorary members of the Academy. This year Prof. E. Major and Prof. S. Koslow were elected as honorary members of the Academy. This was appreciated and approved with cheers.
- 9. The proposal raised in the EC for creating a position of Secretary Head Quarter for continuity and for helping the General Secretary for keeping records, etc., was approved on an ad-hoc basis for 2 years. Dr. Vinay Khanna's name was suggested and approved.
- 10. The house approved EC's acceptance for conducting a neuroscience section at the International Symposium on Molecular Toxicology and Environmental Health at ITRC, Lucknow. This proposal of a Symposium to honour Dr. P. K Seth was sent by Dr. D. Parmar of ITRC.
- 11. The house unanimously elected the following Office Bearers, whose nomination papers were already scrutinized by EC:

President: Vice-Presidents:	Dr. A.M. Kar, Lucknow Dr. H.C. Pant, Bethesda, USA Dr. K.K. Sharma, New Delhi Dr. M. Bhatnagar, Udaipur
Dean:	Dr. K.C. Singhal, Aligarh
General Secretary: Joint Secretary:	Dr. Ishan Patro, Gwalior Dr. Nalini Srivastav, Gwalior
Secretary HQ: Secretary International Affairs: Treasurer: Chief Editor: Co-Editors:	Dr. Vinaya Khanna, Lucknow Dr. Subhash Pandey, Chicago, USA Dr. A.K. Agarwal, Lucknow Dr. Rakesh Shukla, Lucknow Dr. D.R. Singh, Lucknow Dr. R.K. Garg, Lucknow

Members:	Dr. Preeti Joshi, Bangalore Dr. Yasmin Khan, Mumbai Dr. Chanda Kulkarni, Bangalore Dr. P. Prakash Babu, Hyderabad Dr. P.K. Madiratta, New Delhi Dr. T.S. Roy, New Delhi
IBRO Representative:	Dr. V. Ravindranath, Gurgaon
FAONS Representative:	Dr. P.K. Seth, Lucknow
Immediate Past President:	Dr. Gornathy Gopinath, Bangalore

- 12. The house appreciated the efforts of Prof. Maheep Bhatnagar and the Organizing Committee in making the meeting at Udaipur a success. The Vice-Chancellor, MLS University, Prof. Bhatnagar and his colleagues were extended thanks on behalf of the Academy.
- 13. It was requested that part of the savings from the conference if any, may be contributed to the Academy to build up the corpus.
- 14. Dr. Anita Jagota's bid at Kolkatta GB to hold the 21<sup>st</sup> Annual Meeting of IAN at University of Hyderabad was reconsidered by EC and the acceptance of EC was confirmed by GB. It was resolved that 2 1 " Annual Meeting of the Academy be held at Hyderabad with co-sponsorship of Society of Neurochemistry (India). Dr. Jagota promised to intimate the dates of the Conference soon after finalizing the same with other members at Hyderabad. It was also proposed that at least venues of next two consecutive conferences should be tentatively fixed so that there would not be much ambiguity later on. Two venues suggested were Sophia College Mumbai (2005) and St. Johns Medical College, Bangalore (2006).
- 15. It was requested that the various existing chapters of the Academy be more active and the activities to be communicated to the General Secretary to project in the News Letter. Such augmented activities are expected to stimulate others also to start new chapters.
- 16. The General Secretary expressed gratitude of the members of IAN to the Vice Chancellor, MLS University, Secretary and Members of the Organizing Committee for hosting the 20th Annual Meetings and the Conference and for providing all support. He also extended thanks to all Office Bearers of the year for extending their cooperation and help.
- 17. The Meeting was concluded with thanks to the Chair.