Minutes of the Indian Academy of Neurosciences General Body Meeting held at NIMHANS, Bangalore 13th December 2005.

The meeting of the General Body of Indian Academy of Neurosciences was held at NIMHANS Convention Centre, Bangalore on 13th December 2005 at 6:30 PM. The meeting was presided by Prof. Shashi Wadhwa, President IAN.

- 1. The minutes of the last GB held at Jiwaji University Gwalior on January 28, 2005 were confirmed.
- 2. Dr. P. G. Joshi, General Secretary, IAN informed the GB about the recommendations of Executive Committee on various issues.
- 3. The matter of rules and bylaws of the Academy was discussed. Members expressed the need to review the bylaws and make them more explicit Members were informed about the recommendation of EC to form a committee under the chairmanship of Dr. P. K. Seth, which can look in to the rules and bylaws of the academy and recommend the required rephrasing and changes in the bylaws. The recommendation can further be discussed in the next executive committee and general body meeting. Dr. Seth was requested by the General Body to Chair the Review Committee, which he kindly accepted.
- 4. Dr. R. Shukla, Chief Editor had to leave earlier, therefore on his behalf, Dr. P.G. Joshi informed the GB that 3 issues of the Journal have been brought out and sent to the members. The 4th issue is almost ready for publication. The Editor has requested for more manuscripts from members for future issues, so that they can be published in time. The GB complemented the Editor for his efforts in bringing out the issues timely. It was felt that the journal could focus on good review articles and theme based issues.
- 5. It was suggested that the previous issues of the Journal could be placed on website.
- 6. The issue of archiving Member Neuroscientists biography and photographs on the web was considered. The GB accepted the recommendations of EC that the short biography along with a photograph of Fellows and Honorary Members of the Academy would be placed on the web site.
- 7. The Treasurer's report was presented by Dr. A.K. Agrawal and was accepted by GB.
- 8. The matter of training young neuroscientists was discussed. GB was informed that many avenues for training the young neuroscientists are available and these avenues would be placed on the web site for their benefit.
- 9. Detailed discussion was held on the silver jubilee celebration of the Academy. The proposal for the next two IAN Annual meetings at Lucknow and NBRC, Manesar to mark the beginning and closing of Silver Jubilee of IAN was discussed and approved. GB approved the recommendations of the EC to form a National Steering Committee under the Chairmanship of Dr. P. K. Seth to chalk out the details of the Programme. It was decided that

the opening of silver jubilee celebrations with the 24th Annual meeting of the Academy at Lucknow should be followed by year-round activities at various centers and IAN local chapters and will be concluded by 25th Silver Jubilee Conference at NBRC, Manesar in 2007.

- 10. The members were requested to send the proposals for formation of local chapters to IAN Head Office.
- 11. The Executive Committee discussed the issue of IAN Web site. NBRC's offer to provide their web server to host the website of the Academy free of change was presented. The GB approved the proposal and thanked Prof. V. Ravindranath, Director NBRC for the gesture.
- 12. The new executive committee was elected.
- 13. Prof. Henry Stroebel, USA, was elected as the Honorary Member of the Academy.
- 14. The organizing Secretary of the 23rd Annual Conference at NIMHANS, Bangalore, Dr. P.G. Joshi presented the report of the conference. The GB appreciated the scientific and social programme of the conference.
- 15. The President and GB congratulated thanked Prof. D. Nagaraja, Director/Vice Chancellor of NIMHANS, Prof. N.B. Joshi, Head of Biophysics Department, NIMHANS, Members of the local organizing Committee, Prof. Preeti G. Joshi (Organizing Secretary) and the team of students and staff of NIMHANS for conducting an excellent conference.
- 16. Finally GB appreciated the services of outgoing President of IAN, Prof. Shashi Wadhwa and thanked her.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

List of Executive Committee members elected in General Body meeting of Indian Academy of Neurosciences at NIMHANS, Bangalore on 13th Dec 2005

President	Dr. P. N. Tandon, Manesar
Vice Presidents	Dr. H. C. Pant, Bethesda,USA Dr. I. K. Patro, Gwalior Dr. T. R. Raju, Bangalore
Dean	Dr. R. C. Srimal, Lucknow
General Secretary	Dr. P. G. Joshi, Bangalore
Secretary Head Quarters	Dr. V. K. Khanna, Lucknow
Secretary International Affairs	Dr. S. C. Pande, Chicago, USA
Joint Secretary	Dr. P. Seth, manesar
Treasurer	Dr. A.K. Agrawal, Lucknow
Chief Editor	Dr. R. Shukla, Lucknow
Co-Editors	Dr. R. K. Garg, Lucknow Dr. N. Jain, Manesar
Members	Dr. M. C. Arunan, Mumbai Dr. A. Chattopadhyay, Hyderabad Dr. Debjani Guha, Kolkata Dr. R. Sandhir, Chandigarh Dr. M. K. Thakur, Varanasi Dr. B. G. Unni, Jorhat
IBRO and FAONS Representative	Dr. V. Ravindranath, Manesar
Immediate Past President	Dr. S. Wadhwa, New Delhi
Immediate Past General Secretary	Dr. I. K. Patro, Gwalior