

# International Symposium on Translational Neuroscience

8

# **XXXII Annual Conference of Indian Academy of Neurosciences**

November 1 - 3, 2014

National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences Bengaluru - 560 029, Karnataka, India

# Translational Research : Novel Approaches to treat Neurological and Psychiatric disorders

Dear Colleagues,

It is our immense pleasure to invite you to National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru, India for the XXXII Annual Conference of Indian Academy of Neurosciences (IAN). During the conference, we aim to discuss the advances in translational research leading to novel treatment strategies to treat neurological and psychiatric disorders. Scientific programme includes plenary lectures, symposia, orations and young scientist colloquium. The scientific programme ids planned to provide an opportunity for the neuroscientists to keep themselves abreast with the rapid progress being made in the exciting fields of neuroscience. In this regard, it is heartening that several leading scientists have consented to participate and deliver lectures during the conference.

Bengaluru is an enchanting city in which old world charm of its cultural heritage blends with the excitement of technological boom. The city is considered to be the National center of scientific information with technological, industrial and educational activities. We welcome you to the experience of science and knowledge City of Bengaluru and looking forward your active participation. We promise you to provide highly stimulating scientific programme.

# **Scientific Programme**

- Plenary Lectures
- Special Lectures
- Award Lectures
- Oral Presentations
- Poster Presentations

- Tentative Symposia
- Neural plasticity and brain repairDevelopmental brain disorders
- **❖** Neurodegeneration and regeneration
- ❖ Parkinson's disease
- Ageing

- Neurobiology of Alcoholism
- Neurobiology of psychiatric disorders
- Neuropharmacology
- **❖** Neurotoxicology
- Nutrition and Brain

# ISN Symposium on "Molecular Stroke Research: Recent Advances of Mechanisms of Brain Damage and Therapies

## **Awards for Young Neuroscientists**

Tulsabai Somani Education Trust Award Dr. D. M. Kar Prize S. S. Parmar Research Foundation Prize Jyotsnamoyee Raghunath Bhattacharya Prize



#### **Travel Awards**

John Miller Travel Award
Dr. Ravindra Nath & Lalita Nath Memorial Travel Awards

For more details please visit http://neuroscienceacademy.org.in Last date of receiving award nomination August 30, 2014

Registration Information		
Up to Sep 30	After Sep 30	On spot
INR 4000	INR 5000	INR 6000
INR 5000	INR 6000	INR 7000
INR 3000	INR 3500	INR 4000
INR 3000	INR 4000	INR 5000
INR 4000	INR 5000	INR 6000
US\$ 300	US\$ 350	US\$ 400
US\$ 200	US\$ 250	US\$300
US\$ 100	US\$ 150	US\$ 200
	Up to Sep 30 INR 4000 INR 5000 INR 3000 INR 3000 INR 4000 US\$ 300 US\$ 200 US\$ 100	Up to Sep 30         After Sep 30           INR 4000         INR 5000           INR 5000         INR 6000           INR 3000         INR 3500           INR 3000         INR 4000           INR 5000         INR 5000           US\$ 300         US\$ 350           US\$ 200         US\$ 250

\*All students should submit bonafide certificate issued by the Research Supervisor / HOD / Head of the Institution

Registration Payment Procedure		
Name of the Account	IAN2014NIMHANS	
Bank Account Number	64145765403	
Name of the Bank	State Bank of Mysore	
Branch Name	NIMHANS Branch	
Branch Code	40675	
IFSC Code	SBMYOO40675	
SWIFT Code	SBMYINBB684	
Address of the Bank	NIMHANS, Hosur Road, Bengaluru - 560 029	

Registration fee may also be paid through Demand draft in favor of "IAN2014NIMHANS" payable at State Bank of Mysore, NIMHANS Branch, Bengaluru

#### **REGISTRATION FORM**

(This format can be typed and submitted by e-mail)

Telephone No.: \_\_\_\_\_ Mobile No.: \_\_\_\_ E-mail.:

Complete postal Address:

Registration fee details (NEFT transaction reference No. / DD No.):

Title of the abstract:

## ABSTRACT SUBMISSION DETAILS

Registration is compulsory for Abstract submission
Please complete the registration form with abstract and submit by e-mail to ian2014nimhans@gmail.com / trlaxmi@nimhans.kar.nic.in

Last date for abstract submission is 30th September 2014

Format for abstract submission :

- Title of the abstract
- Author(s) name in full
- Single line spacing, Times New Roman Font 12 size, Word format (.doc)
- Total number of words : Maximum 250 words with 5 key words
- Corresponding author: Full name, address and e-mail
- Acknowledge funding agency (if any) and specify conflict of interest (if any)

### **Organizing Committee**

Chief Patron : Dr. P Satishchandra, Director and Senior Professor of Neurology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru : Dr. T R Raju, Senior Professor and Head, Neurophysiology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru

Chairperson : Dr. Preeti G Joshi, Professor and Head, Biophysics, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru Co-Chairperson : Dr. Bindu M Kutty, Professor, Neurophysiology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru

Organizing Secretary : Dr. B S Shankaranarayana Rao, Additional Professor, Neurophysiology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru

Jt. Organizing Secretary : Dr. T N Sathyaprabha, Additional Professor, Neurophysiology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru Convenor, Scientific Program : Dr. Laxmi T Rao, Associate Professor, Neurophysiology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru : Mr. G Narasimhalu, Chief - Technician, Neurophysiology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru

#### Conference Secretariat

Dr. B S Shankaranarayana Rao Organizing Secretary (IAN-2014) Additional Professor Department of Neurophysiology

National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences (NIMHANS)

Hosur Road, Bengaluru – 560 029, India. Email: ian2014nimhans@gmail.com

Tel: 080 2699 5175 (off), Mob: +91 9972922745; Fax: +91 080 2656 4830

For more details and updates please visit http://neuroscienceacademy.org.in

# CONVENTION CENTRE Convention Centre, National institute of Montal Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru - 560 029 India

#### President

Dr. M.K. Thakur, Varanasi Vice Presidents

Dr. S.C. Pandey, Chicago, USA Dr. Sasanka Chakraborty, Kolkata Dean

Dr. S. Sinha, Manesar General Secretary

Dr. P. Seth, Manesar

Secretary HQ

Dr. V.K. Khan

Dr. V.K. Khanna, Lucknow Secretary International Affairs Dr. D.K. Lahiri, Indianapolis, USA

Treasurer

Dr. A. K. Agrawal, Lucknow

Chief Editor

Dr. A. Anand, Chandigarh

# IAN Executive Committee Members

Dr (Ms). Laxmi T. Rao, Bengaluru Dr (Ms). Vidita Vaidya, Mumbai Dr. Rajat Sandhir, Chandigarh Dr. T.S. Roy, New Delhi

Dr. (Ms). Shashi B. Singh, New Delhi Dr. RV Omkumar, Thiruvananthapuram IBRO and FAONS Representative Dr. P. K. Seth, Lucknow

Immediate Past President
Dr. R. Shukla, Lucknow

**Immediate Past General Secretary** 

Dr. M.K. Thakur, Varanasi