## Minutes of the Executive Committee

## INDIAN ACADEMY OF NEUROSCIENCES Udaipur 20 & 21 February 2003 20.2-2003

The meeting of the EC of Indian Academy of Neurosciences (IAN) was held on 201 February 2003 at the Conference site at Udaipur. Professor G. Gopinath the President of the Academy welcomed the members and appraised the EC about the proposal of the Search Committee for the First "B.K. Bachhawat Lifetime Achievement Award in Neuroscience" that Professor P.N. Tandon be conferred with the Award, which was unanimously accepted. The Meeting was adjourned to continue on 21.2.2003.

## 21.2.2003

The minutes of the EC held at Kolkata were confirmed. Professor M. Hasan presented his concern over the non-availability of information about the Kolkata meeting and also requested that all-important information should reach all the members in time. He also suggested that a list of the members whose mails bounce back may be included in the next Newsletter so that other members may be able to provide their present addresses, if available.

Professor Vijayalaxmi Ravindranath appraised the EC about the I BRO activities. IBRO has invited proposals programme for workshops and training so that the information can be sent in time for funding from IBRO as there is a programme for developing countries. Such requests should reach IBRO at least one year in advance and can be routed through Dr. Ravindranath (IBRO Representative from India). She also informed the EC about the different travel grants available with IBRO which should be explored by different Centers.

The members in their personal capacities or as centre/Institution may log into the NBRC networking or website of IBRO and get these information in time and circulate the same amongst their team. She also requested the members to encourage young scientists to apply for the travel awards of IBRO. She extended possibilities of information transmission using NBRC DIC and hoped that the Secretary IAN will make use of it.

Prof. Vijayalaxmi made a mention about the forthcoming IBRO and RIEKEN Summer Schools.

Dr. Seth could not attend the last FAONS meeting hence Prof. Vijayalaxmi was deputed. She informed that now IAN is a regular member of FAONS and all dues have been cleared with the help of the funds provided after the last conference of IAN. She has requested that IAN should continue to pay their corporate membership) fee on time. She has been selected Secretary for next 3 years She informed India (NBRC) may be able to bid for the FAONS congress in 2010. She also informed about the Korea-Japan-China-India collaboration in organizing workshops and that the next workshop is scheduled to be held at Korea in September 2003. Such workshops should be planned in India in the near future.

EC recorded the help rendered by Dr. K.P. Mohankumar by saving money from the last meeting and making it available for the FAONS and IBRO membership. The EC also recorded the great efforts made by Prof. Ravindranath in placing IAN into the map of IBRO and FAONS in good standing. All appreciated the help she rendered for this meeting at Udaipur as well.

Dr. R. Shukla presented the Editor's report and informed that 2 issues of the Journal has appeared and expressed his concern over not getting good articles for the journal. All the members of EC were requested to help the cause of the Journal and appreciated the efforts of Prof. B.N. Dhawan and Prof. P.K. Seth in bringing out the special issue on herbal medicine. The EC also appreciated the efforts made by the Chief Editor Prof. A.M. Kar and the Co-Editors in improving the quality of the journal.

The Dean Prof. Wadhwa listed the number of papers received for AN-awards and informed the EC of the low nomination rate in spite of the timely announcement. The EC members were of the opinion that this problem is faced many scientific forums and the Secretary was advised to intensify the efforts. The Dean also requested to raise the prize amount and the EC was of the view that the Academy should make efforts to make it possible. Due appreciation was noted for Prof. John Miller for the endowment he has donated for the travel award which started this year.

The Dean and the President were of the view that there should be clear-cut guidelines developed for nominations of the IAN Fellowships so that nominee's achievements can be evaluated objectively. The EC requested Prof. Gopinath to develop the same with the help of Professors Ravindranath and Wadhwa.

Prof. S. Koslow and Prof. E. Major were elected as Honorary Members of the Academy, pending approval by the General Body meeting on 22.2.2003,

Some of the members of the EC mentioned that many of the local chapters are not active and the local chapters should be motivated to be more active and the reports of their activities, be given in the newsletter.

Professor Dhawan and Dr. Seth strongly recommended creation of a position of Secretary HQ for helping the Gen. Secretary and also for keeping records, etc. continuously. This request is to be placed in the GB.

The request from Dr. D. Parmar for sponsoring the International Symposium on Molecular toxicology and Environmental Health at ITRC, Lucknow which was accepted and resolved that Prof. Hasan and Dr. Patro will coordinate with Dr. Parmar for the neuroscience part in the symposium and the participants and speakers are to be finalized as early as possible as the event is scheduled in June 2003.

The venue for the next meeting is University of Hyderabad and the Organizing secretary is Dr. Anita Jagota and it was requested that EC also approves Co-sponsorship of the Society for Neurochemistry (India). The dates of the Conference shall be declared as soon as Dr. Jagota finalizes the dates EC felt that bids for the next 2 conferences should be invited in the GB. The &-recorded with appreciation the visit of all the foreign delegates to this meeting at Udaipur through NBRC a note of appreciation shall be sent the Director, NBRC regarding this help.

The EC congratulated Prof. Bhatnagar and appreciated the efforts by the Organizing committee in making the meeting at Udaipur a success. The Vice Chancellor, MLS University, Prof. 13hatnagar and his colleagues were extended thanks on behalf of the Academy.

The EC recorded with appreciation the visit of all the foreign delegates to this meeting at Udaipur through NBRC. A note of appreciation shall be sent to the Director, NBRC regarding this help.

The meeting closed with vote of thanks and appreciation to the Chair for her positive involvement in improving the affairs of the Academy.