Minutes of the Indian Academy of Neurosciences Executive Committee Meeting held at NIMHANS, Bangalore on 11th and 12th December 2005.

The meeting of the executive committee (EC) of Indian Academy of Neurosciences was held at NIMHANS Convention Centre, Bangalore on 11th December 2005 at 6:30 PM and was resumed in the morning of 12th Dec 2005. The meeting was presided by Prof. Shashi Wadhwa , President IAN and following members were present

Dr. A. K. Agrawal, , Dr. B.N. Dhawan, Dr. Y.K. Gupta, Dr. M. Hasan, Dr. P.G. Joshi, Dr. V. K. Khanna, ,Dr. I. K. Patro, Dr. BSS Rao, Dr. V. Ravindranath, Dr. Pankaj Seth, Dr. P. K. Seth, Dr. R.C. Srimal and Dr. B.G. Unni.

- 1. President welcomed all the members and informed that the Academy is entering into its Silver Jubillee and for that we should chalk a good scientific program and have celeberations through out the year. She said that we all can think about the plans and discuss this later.
- 1. The minutes of the last EC held at Jiwaji University Gwalior on January 29, 2005 were confirmed.
- 2. The committee approved panels of Judges constituted by Dean to evaluate the papers presented for different awards during the annual meeting.

S.S. Parmar Research Foundation Prize

Dr. James Russell, NIH, USA Dr. A. Wakade, Wayne State University, USA Dr. R. Vemuganti, University of Wisconsin, USA

D.M.Kar Prize

Dr. M.K. Mathew, NCBS, Bangalore Dr. Santy Daya, Rhodes University, South Africa Dr. C. Kulkarni, St John's Medical College, Bangalore.

Jyotsnamoyee Raghunath Bhattacharya Prize

Dr. M. Hasan, Lucknow Dr. James Russel, NIH, USA Dr. I.K. Patro, Jiwaji University, Gwalior.

3. Dr. Y.K. Gupta, Dean of the Academy informed that 3 nominations were received for consideration for Fellowship of the Academy. The Academic Committee felt that one nomination was not in order. After reviewing the other two nominations the committee recommended that the IAN Fellowship be conferred on Dr. M. K. Thakur, BHU, Varanasi.

- 4. The academic committee for the year 2006 was constituted with the following members.
 - 1) President Ex Officio
 - 2) General Secretary Ex Officio
 - 3) Dean Ex Officio
 - 4) Dr. M. Hasan, Lucknow IAN Fellow
 - 5) Dr. S. Wadhwa, New Delhi IAN Fellow

The Chairperson can co-opt other experts if needed.

- 5. The Search Committee for Prof. B. K. Bachawat Life Time Achievement award for the year 2006 was also constituted with the following members:
 - 1) President Ex- Officio
 - 2) General Secretary Ex Officio
 - 3) Dean Ex- Officio
 - 4) Editor Ex- Officio
 - 5) Two Fellows of IAN Dr. M Hasan, and Dr. V. Ravindranath

It was suggested that awardee should be informed 3 months before the Annual conference.

- 6. The matter of rules and bylaws of the Academy was discussed. It was felt that there is a need to review the bylaws and to make them more explicit like those of other science academies. It was recommended that under the chairmanship of Dr. P. K. Seth a committee be opted and formed to look into the rules and bylaws of the academy. The committee would recommend the required rephrasing and changes to be made in the bylaws, which can further be discussed in the next executive council and general body meeting. Dr. Seth was requested to review the rules and bylaws along with the other members.
- 7. The Editor reported that 3 issues of the Journal have been brought out and sent to the members. The 4th issue is almost ready for publication. He requested for more manuscripts from members for future issues, so that they can be published in time. The Council complemented the Editor for his efforts in bringing out the issues timely. It was felt that the journal could focus on good review articles and theme based issues. It was suggested that a smaller committee could be formed out of the editorial advisory board to help the Chief Editor in fulfilling these goals. It was suggested that the previous issues of the Journal could be placed on website.
- 8. The issue of archiving Member Neuroscientists photographs on the web was considered. The Executive Committee recommended that the short biographic data under a standard format for Honorary Members and Fellows along with their photographs might be placed on the web site.
- 9. The Treasurer's report was presented by Dr. A. K. Agrawal and it was accepted by the Executive Committee.

- 10. The matter of training young neuroscientists was considered. It was felt that there are many avenues for such training which are already available to the young neuroscientists and these avenues may be placed on the web site for their benefit.
- 11. Detailed discussion was held on the silver jubilee celebration of the Academy. Various suggestions received from members were discussed in the meeting. It was decided that Dr. P. K. Seth as Chairman should formulate a National Steering Committee to chalk out in detail the entire programme. It was also decided that t he silver jubilee celebrations should kick start with the 24th Annual meeting of the Academy, which should be held at Lucknow keeping in view that it was here where this Academy was founded. This should be followed by year-round activities throughout the year 2007 to be rounded off by 25th Silver Jubilee Conference at NBRC, Manesar in 2007.

Other members co-opted for Steering Committee are as follows:

- 1) Dr. B. N. Dhawan, Lucknow
- 2) Dr. Shashi Wadhwa, New Delhi
- 3) Dr. Y. K. Gupta, New Delhi
- 4) Dr. N. B. Joshi, Bangalore
- 5) Dr. B. G. Unni, Jorhat
- 6) Dr. S. Tole, Mumbai
- 7) Dr. K. P. Mohan Kumar, Kolkatta
- 8) Dr. P. Prakash Babu, Hyderabad
- 9) Dr. I. K. Patro, Gwalior
- 12. The Executive Committee discussed the issue of IAN Web site. NBRC's offer to provide their web server to host the website of the Academy free of change was presented.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.