Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting held on December 17 and 18, 2006 at Scientific Convention Centre, Lucknow

The meeting of the Executive Committee (EC) of Indian Academy of Neurosciences was held at the Scientific Convention Centre, Lucknow on December 17, 2006 and was resumed in the morning of December 18, 2006. Professor P.N. Tandon, President, IAN presided over the meeting and following members were present,

Dr (Ms). Devika Nag, Dr. B.N. Dhawan, Dr. M. Hasan, Dr. M.K. Thakur, Dr. I.K. Patro, Dr. G.N. Pandey, Dr. R. Shukla – KGMU, Dr. H.C. Pant, Dr (Ms). P.G. Joshi, Dr (Ms). S. Wadhwa, Dr. P. Seth, Dr. A.K. Agrawal, Dr. V.K. Khanna

- 1. The minutes of the last EC meeting held at NIMHANS, Bangalore on December 11 and 12, 2005 were confirmed.
- 2. The EC reviewed the recommendation of the search committee for the award of Professor B.K. Bachhawat Life Time Achievement Award to Dr. P.K. Seth and approved the same. Due to family reasons, Dr. P.K. Seth could not attend the meeting and thus it was suggested that oration could be delivered by Dr. Seth either at the local branch of the Academy or during the next annual meeting. Dr. R.C. Srimal, Dean of the Academy was requested to kindly do the needful.
- 3. Dr. R.C. Srimal, Dean, IAN informed that following four nominations were received for consideration for Fellowship of the Academy,
 - (i) Dr. Gautam Palit, CDRI, Lucknow
 - (ii) Dr. B.G. Unni, RRL, Jorhat
 - (iii) Dr (Ms). Shahi Bala Singh, DIPAS, New Delhi
 - (iv) Dr (Ms). Raj D. Mehra, AIIMS, New Delhi

He further informed that the nomination of Dr. Prakash Babu was received after the last date and hence was not considered by the Academic Committee. The Dean apprised the EC that the Academic Committee after a careful review of the nominations recommended for the award of Fellowship of IAN to Dr. B.G. Unni and Dr (Ms). Raj D. Mehra. The EC accepted the recommendations of the Academic Committee and approved the same.

- 4. The committee approved the panel of judges (Dr. S. Wadhwa, AIIMS, New Delhi, Dr. M. Hasan, KGMU, Lucknow, Dr. R. Shukla, CSMMU, Lucknow) proposed by the Dean to evaluate the papers for Jyotsnamoyee Raghunath Bhattacharya Prize.
- 5. The committee approved panel of judges to evaluate papers presented during the award sessions,

Tulsabai Somani Educational Trust Award and Dr. D.M. Kar Prize

(i) Dr. A. Kanthasamy, USA (ii) Dr. Norman Haughey, USA (iii) Dr. Mahdi Hasan, India

Dr. S.S. Parmar Research Foundation (USA)

(i) Dr. J.D. Geiger, USA (ii) Dr. W.K. Boyes, USA (iii) Dr. Santy Daya, South Africa (iv) Dr. K.K. Srivastava, India (v) Dr. H. Okamoto, Japan

NASI Young Scientist Colloquium

- (i) Dr (Ms). D. Nag, India (ii) Dr. B.N. Dhawan, India (iii) Dr (Ms). Shashi Wadhwa, India
- Following names were approved for the academic committee and search committee for 2006 2007,

Academic Committee (President – Ex officio, General Secretary – Ex officio, Dean – Ex officio, 2 IAN Fellows - Dr. M. Hasan, Lucknow, Dr (Ms). S. Wadhwa, New Delhi). If required, the Chairperson can co-opt other expert(s).

Search Committee (President – Ex officio, General Secretary – Ex officio, Dean – Ex officio, Editor – Ex officio, 2 IAN Fellows -Dr. M. Hasan, Lucknow , Dr (Ms). V. Ravindranath, Manesar).

- 7. Dr. A.K. Agrawal, Treasurer informed the committee that a proposal from Dr. Avindra Nath has been received to constitute Travel Fellowship in the memory of his father Professor R. Nath who had been the Fellow and President of the Academy. Dr. Agrawal also informed that Dr. Avindra Nath has sent US \$ 5,000/- to establish a corpus for the Travel Fellowship so that the travel award may be given out of the interest on the corpus. As Dr. Avindra Nath was interested that the award may be given from the Silver Jubilee Year Conference, he had sent an additional amount of US \$ 200 so that Dr. R. Nath Memorial Travel Fellowship may be given from 2006. The EC approved the proposal and also advised the Treasurer to draw guidelines for the award in consultation with the Dean.
- 8. Dr. Rakesh Shukla, Editor of Annals of Neurosciences, the official journal of the Academy apprised the members that the journal is being brought out at regular intervals. He requested more manuscripts from members and asked them to motivate their students and colleagues to submit manuscripts for further issues. The EC complemented the Editor for keeping the continuity and bringing out the publication on time. The EC suggested that previous issues of the journal could be placed on the website.
- 9. Dr. A.K. Agrawal presented the Treasurer's report and the same was accepted by the committee.
- 10. The EC discussed the issue of formation of local branches of the Academy at certain places including Bangalore where there are 10 or more members. Dr (Ms). Preeti G. Joshi proposed that a local branch can be started at Bangalore. She will inform the EC soon after discussing the matter with her colleagues. The EC also discussed the issue to revive local braches at Aligarh, Kolkata and Gwalior for closer interaction and promoting neuroscience activities.
- 11. Discussions for holding scientific activities during the Silver Jubilee of Indian Academy of Neurosciences were held. Members suggested that various activities like symposium, workshop and scientific / popular lecture(s) should be held at different centres engaged in neuroscience activities. One or more such activities could be held at Bangalore, Gwalior, Kolkata, Lucknow,

Manesar, and New Delhi. Dr. G.N. Pandey (University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, USA), a senior member and Fellow of the Academy present during the meeting was requested to hold a symposium at USA under the auspices of Silver Jubilee of IAN. Dr. Pandey accepted the proposal to hold the symposium at an appropriate time during the year. The committee suggested that the programme could be chalked out and uploaded on the IAN website for wider participation of IAN members and persons interested in neurosciences.

- 12. The EC reviewed the recommendations of the committee (Dr. P.K. Seth, Dr. B.N. Dhawan, Dr. R.C. Srimal) for updating Rules and Bye laws of Indian Academy of Neurosciences. The committee suggested that the existing Rules and Bye laws with modifications be circulated to the IAN members to seek their suggestion(s) before taking the final decision.
- 13. The EC discussed the proposal of Dr. M.K. Thakur for holding the XXV annual conference of IAN at Varanasi and accepted.
- 14. The requests of members that the same EC be continued for one more year keeping in view of the Silver Jubilee Year activities of the Academy was discussed. The EC accepted the proposal subject to the final approval of General Body.
- 15. The issue of bringing out the status of neuroscience on the occasion of Silver Jubilee of the Academy was discussed. It was felt that the theme based commemorative volume be prepared and released during the next annual conference. It was suggested that Dr. P.K. Seth may be requested to coordinate the compiling of chapters alongwith other members. The EC also felt that as the Academy has stepped into its Silver Jubilee, the history of IAN be documented properly and brought out. Dr. Mahdi Hasan was requested to take up this important task. Other members assured him to extend full co-operation for bringing out the history before the next meeting at Varanasi.
- 16. President of the Academy informed that the FAONS conference will be held at New Delhi in 2010. The members were happy to note and suggested that IAN being the affiliate body of FAONS could sponsor this event.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.