Prof. Subramaniam Ganesh, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur awarded the KT Shetty Memorial Oration



KT Shetty Memorial Oration

KT Shetty Memorial Oration was instituted in recognition of impeccable scientific contributions of Professor KT Shetty in the field of Neuroscience.

The award is bestowed to mid career neuroscientist for his/her meritorious contributions to the field

Prof. Subramaniam Ganesh

Professor Subramaniam Ganesh is the currently the Head of the Department of Biological Sciences at the premier Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur. He received his PhD from the Banaras Hindu University in 1996. After a short postdoctoral training in the Indian Institute of Sciences, Bangalore, he accepted the post-doctoral staff scientist position at the RIKEN Brain Science (Japan) in February 1998. Prof. Ganesh later returned to India and joined as faculty of IIT Kanpur in April 2002.

A pioneer in the study of Lafora disease (LD; a genetic and a fatal form of neurodegenerative disorder), Prof. Ganesh established that LD proteins play critical roles in proteolytic pathways which redefined an age old concept that LD is a metabolic disorder. His group has also elucidated the role of LD protein glycogen metabolism, defects therein results in the formation abnormal glycogen inclusions in neurons and other tissues. More recently, his group has developed genetic models for disorders such as Parkinson's and Huntington's diseases, and his findings offer new insights on the common underlying pathogenic mechanisms among various neurodegenerative disorders.

Prof. S. Ganesh is an elected fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India. His other honors also include *Outstanding Young Scientist*" by SCOPUS (Elsevier South Asia), Department of Biotechnology (Govt. of India – *National Bioscience Award for Career Development*), and the B.M. Birla Science Centre (*Birla Science Prize for young scientist in Biological Sciences 2009*). He was also awarded the "*Outstanding Research Investigator Grant*" by the Department of Atomic Energy, the CDRI Award for Excellence in Drug Research (CDRI, Lucknow), Rajib Goyal Prize in Life Sciences (Goyal Foundation, Kurukshetra University), the Ramanna Fellowship (Department of Sciences & Technology, Govt. of India), and the Gill-Joy Chair (IIT Kanpur).

More info: http://home.iitk.ac.in/~sganesh/