Last Date for JNS Scholarship Application 24th March 2014 Click to Apply       Philanthropy to Brain Research in IISc - efforts of Past President of IAN Prof. Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath       IAN -2014 will be held during Nov 1-3, 2014 at NIMHANS, Bengaluru            
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          The opinions contained in the articles published in Annals of Neuroscience are the personal views of the authors and do not reflect the views or opinion of the academy.

About the Academy

The Indian Academy of Neurosciences (IAN) came to existence in 1982 with the efforts of Late Prof. K.P. Bhargava, Prof. Mahdi Hasan, Prof. S.S. Parmar, Prof. B.N. Dhawan, Prof. P.K. Seth and other eminent neuroscientists. Ever since its inception the Academy has been active in promoting neurosciences. It has been holding meetings regularly at different centres involved in neuroscience research in the country Besides, the Academy has organized and sponsored symposia, workshops and conferences in areas of current interest.
To encourage young scientists the Academy has instituted awards for poster and oral presentations and published work. The Academy recognizes eminent Neuroscientists by electing them as Fellows and Honorary Members. The Academy has instituted 'B.K. Bachhawat Life-time Achievement Award in Neuroscience'. This award is given to a scientist for his/her outstanding contributions in neurosciences.
The Academy publishes a Newsletter and a Journal - Annals of Neurosciences. A Membership Directory is also available which is updated from time to time.
Indian Academy of Neurosciences has good amalgamation of basic and clinical researchers. Started with few neuroscientists in 1982, the Academy has grown into a sizable organization of dedicated members. At present it has around 700 life members from India, Germany, Japan, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, UK and USA. Annual meetings of the Academy are also attended by foreign members and thus provide a unique forum for interaction among the neuroscientists from India and abroad.
We invite you to become a member and enrich the society with your experience and contribute to achieve its goals and objectives.